How Sharing A Meal Changed My Life: Part 1

I thought my life was finished in the fall of 2010. But it took a dinner with family to help make a life changing decision for my future. 

I began experiencing serious health issues around late 2004 into early 2005. The most noticeable was losing an unusual amount of weight in a short period of time. My heart pounded as I would profusely sweat from everyday activity like walking a short distance. Trying to control my weight lose and then gain was an incredible struggle. It felt like a matter of days I could go up or down as much as five pounds that easy. My endocrinologist described my symptoms as Graves Disease. What triggered the disease is unknown but it made my thyroid work over time giving me rapid heart beat including many sleepless nights with little energy to make it through the day. 

I fought with my body for years trying to balance my thyroid as my body randomly flipped an internal switch forcing me to reset its functions and start all over, again and again.

By the summer of 2010, I was a mess. With an appointment scheduled for early September to see my endocrinologist, it felt so far away. I had a very poor outlook on life. Struggling to control my weight, anxiety, and temperament was a losing battle. My relationship with family and friends was coming unraveled as I made stupid arguments and unnecessary drama out of anger and frustration.

A trip to Canada that summer was pure hell. My thyroid and anxiety were ruining me. Arguing over leaving the bus for site seeing or a photo-op with amazing monuments and landscapes were senseless. Trying to leave the hotel, I found issue for argument over nothing more than movement. It was beyond embarrassing and one of the lowest points in my life. 

Continue here for Part 2. Thank you for reading Food & Zen.

Leave a Reply

