Play With Your Eggs, Not Yourself: An Unfortunate Cooking Tale Concludes

All my ingredients were ready on the counter including necessary utensils I think I will need like a spork for tasting and stirring. 

My cereal bowl works well for mixing the ingredients as I start by cracking and placing the eggs then adding a handful of bacon bits. Next, I open the parmesan droping about a handful of cheese. Forgetting then remembering to add a spoonful of garlic to the bowl, it was likely over a spoonful, I mix it with the ingredients. It sure does smell amazing if a bit strong. 

I spray cooking oil in the frying pan until it’s moist everywhere. Placing it on the stove, I select the proper grate knob and turn it to low because I do not want to burn the house down.With all my ingredients prepared, I pour them in the pan. It crackled with delight.

The sound reminded me of a crowd applauding me on for my achievement in egg scramblery, not a real word.

About five minutes passed and my eggs smelled great, but looked very yellow and watery. I was not aware at that moment my error and failure to add cream! Hurrying to fridge, I hoped to save my eggs with the last minute addition, but it was too late. 

I took a bite of the mess I created. It was bad as I only tasted a spoonful of garlic and a hint of parmesan. The flavor of bacon and egg was completely gone. As quickly as I swallowed it, I chased it down with a cup of milk. Disappointed, I grabbed the pan and scraped the rest into the trash. Cereal was back on the menu for this rookie.

The lesson to be learned here is if you do not succeed at first, then try, try again and again. An important note, try not to leave your family’s kitchen in a mess when they are unaware you took advantage of their fridge. 

No matter what happens in life, never stop trying new things. Just clean up after yourself. And please follow me at Food & Zen. I promise, it gets better.

This entry was posted in Food.

Leave a Reply

